Government Bodies
Flag Monday, 27 June 2022
Minsk Sun and clouds +28°C
All news
All news
14 April 2022, 13:50

Belarus waives visas for citizens of Lithuania, Latvia on 15 April-15 May

MINSK, 14 April (BelTA) – Citizens of Lithuania and Latvia will be allowed to enter Belarus without visas as from 15 April, BelTA learned from the State Border Committee of Belarus.

According to the source, citizens of neighboring European Union countries cannot visit their relatives in Belarus due to the lack of visas amid lengthy coronavirus-related restrictions. Considering these circumstances and in view of the forthcoming Orthodox Christian and Catholic Christian celebrations citizens of Latvia (as well as non-citizens of Latvia) and Lithuania have been granted the right to enter, exit, and stay in Belarus without visas.

The State Border Committee added that these citizens will be able to cross via checkpoints at the Belarusian-Latvian border and the Belarusian-Lithuanian border without visas. The procedure will stay in effect from 00:00 on 15 April through 15 May. The eligible citizens will be able to enter Belarus without visas as many times as they like and stay in the entire territory of Belarus.

These citizens will also be able to enter the border zone without passes. Before doing so, they have to tell a border service officer at a border checkpoint about their intention to enter the border zone, identify populated localities, and the purpose of going there.

The Belarusian border service reminded that in order to enter Belarus all the foreign citizens have to produce a valid document for foreign travels, medical insurance, a green card (if they travel by road), and a negative PCR test result or a vaccination certificate.

Subscribe to us
Recent news from Belarus