Government Bodies
Flag Thursday, 30 May 2024
All news
All news
25 February 2024, 20:09

Polling stations close after single voting day in Belarus

MINSK, 25 February (BelTA) – Polling stations previously opened for electing members of various councils of deputies as part of the single voting day in Belarus have been closed, BelTA has learned.

A total of 5,411 polling stations were open from 8:00 till 20:00 on 25 February. Apart from that, some voters could cast their ballots at home.

As many as 45,505 national observers kept an eye on the proceedings. As many as 294 international observers were accredited as well. Missions had been sent to monitor the elections on the single voting day by the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), the Parliamentary Assembly of the Collective Security Treaty Organization, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union State of Belarus and Russia in addition to heads and representatives of election authorities of other countries as well as experts from European countries and other ones (Italy, Germany, Lithuania, Poland, France, Sweden, Switzerland, Serbia, Bulgaria).

On the single voting day Belarusians had to elect 110 members of the eighth-convocation House of Representatives of the National Assembly and 12,514 members of the 29th convocation of various municipal councils of deputies.

The deputies were elected by citizens directly and will stay in office for five years.

Subscribe to us
Recent news from Belarus