Government Bodies
Flag Monday, 26 July 2021
Minsk Clear +23°C
All news
All news
10 June 2021, 17:48

Gagarin Cup winner Andrei Stas brings trophy to Minsk

MINSK, 10 June (BelTA) – Andrei Stas, Gagarin Cup winner as part of HC Avangard Omsk, has brought the trophy for displaying it in Minsk, BelTA has learned.

The cup visited three arenas in the Belarusian capital on 10 June. From 10:00 to 12:00 it was on display at Chizhovka Arena. Then it was showcased on the indoor rink in Gorky Park, and then the Palace of Sports.

Last season, three Belarusian hockey players, who played for HC Avangard Omsk, won the Gagarin Cup: Kirill Gotovets, Andrei Stas and Nikita Komarov. Belarusian specialist Yury Kuzmenkov won the honorary trophy as part of the coaching staff of the Siberian team.

Andrei Stas will play for HC Traktor Chelyabinsk in the next season of the Kontinental Hockey League. He used his right and brought the trophy to Minsk, where he started practicing hockey.

Avangard Omsk won the Gagarin Cup for the first time in its history by defeating CSKA Moscow in the decisive stage of the tournament. Previously, the cup was won by Ak Bars Kazan, Salavat Yulaev Ufa, Dynamo Moscow, Metallurg Novokuznetsk, SKA St. Petersburg and CSKA Moscow.

HC Avangard Omsk won its first ever Gagarin Cup defeating HC CSKA Moscow in the final. The trophy was earlier won by HC Ak Bars Kazan, HC Salavat Yulaev Ufa, HC Dynamo Moscow, HC Metallurg Novokuznetsk, HC SKA St Petersburg, and HC CSKA Moscow.

Photos by Oksana Manchuk

Subscribe to us
Recent news from Belarus