Government Bodies
Tuesday, 2 June 2020
Minsk Overcast sky +10°C
All news
All news
20 May 2020, 18:21

Groups for 2021 IIHF World Championship named

MINSK, 20 May (BelTA) – Proceeding from the rankings of the teams, the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) approved the groups for the 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship which is due to take place in Minsk and Riga, BelTA learned from the press service of the Belarusian Ice Hockey Federation.

Host Belarus will face Russia, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Switzerland, Slovakia, Denmark and in the UK in Group A in Minsk.

Latvia will be the host of Group B that will also feature Canada, Finland, the United States, Germany, Norway, Italy and Kazakhstan. The matches will be played in Riga.

The championship will take place at the 15,086-seat Minsk Arena and the 10,300-seat Arena Riga.

The two countries will host the IIHF World Championship for the second time. Belarus hosted the competitions in 2014, Latvia – in 2006.

Subscribe to us
Recent news from Belarus