Government Bodies
Sunday, 27 September 2020
Minsk Overcast sky +14°C
All news
All news
10 August 2020, 09:00

Belarus' CEC reveals preliminary election results in some districts

An archive photo
An archive photo

MINSK, 10 August (BelTA) – Chairperson of the Central Election Commission (CEC) of Belarus Lidia Yermoshina announced preliminary vote count results in some districts of Belarus as she appeared on the Belarus 1 TV channel, BelTA has learned.

“Several towns and districts have already sent information. One of them is Leninsky District of Minsk. However, this information does not include data from overseas polling stations that were also assigned to this district; these polling stations are expected to send results by 15:00 on 10 August. More than 64% of voters came to the polls in Leninsky District. Lukashenko got nearly 67% of the votes, Tikhanovskaya received almost 15%, ‘none of the above' 8.5%,” Lidia Yermoshina said.

As far as Brest Oblast is concerned, the turnout in four districts of the region was 95.7%. These are Drogichin District, Zhabinka District, Kamenets District and Malorita District where 85,837 people cast their ballots. According to her, Aleksandr Lukashenko got nearly 79.69% of the votes, Svetlana Tikhanovskaya 3.8%, ‘none of the above' 1.28%.

Voting results were also submitted by several districts of Gomel Oblast. These are Vetka District, Lelchitsy District, Loyev District and Khoiniki District. “Some 52,000 people and more. Lukashenko was the candidate of choice for 90% of the voters. He was followed by Tikhanovskaya (3.2%) and ‘none of the above' (2.55%). This region has the most accurate voter lists,” Lidia Yermoshina said.

Eight districts of Grodno Oblast completed vote counting. These are Berestovitsa District, Voronovo District, Dyatlovo District, Zelva District, Ivie District, Korelichi District, Mosty District and Svisloch District. Some 124,000 voters cast their ballots there. Aleksandr Lukashenko came first with 92.7% of the votes, Svetlana Tikhanovskaya came second with 3.89% of the votes, ‘none of the above' received 1.45%.

Four districts of Mogilev Oblast submitted their voting results. These are Krasnopolye District, Mstislavl District, Khotimsk District and Cherikov District where 40,000 showed up at polling stations. Aleksandr Lukashenko received 93.8% of the votes, ‘none of the above' 3.3%. Svetlana Tikhanovskaya came third.

Subscribe to us
Recent news from Belarus