Government Bodies
Flag Tuesday, 26 September 2023
Minsk Clear +9°C
All news
All news
30 May 2023, 10:06

Erdogan has remained Turkish people's choice of president since 2014


ANKARA, 30 May (BelTA - Anadolu Agensy). - Following the constitutional amendment made in 2007 so that the president is directly elected by the people, on Aug. 10, 2014, the Turkish people went to the polls for the first time to elect their president.

President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who received 51.79% of the votes in the election, was elected the 12th president of the Republic of Türkiye.

In the presidential election of June 24, 2018, Erdogan had a clear victory against other candidates Muharrem Ince, Meral Aksener, Selahattin Demirtas, Temel Karamollaoglu and Dogu Perincek, garnering 52.59% of the votes.

In the recent presidential election held on May 14, Erdogan entered the election race with Kemal Kilicdaroglu, Sinan Ogan and Muharrem Ince, who later withdrew from candidacy.

Falling short of the 50% threshold, Erdogan and Kilicdaroglu went to the second round on May 28.

According to the unofficial results in the second round of the presidential election, Erdogan, who received over 27.7 million votes, garnered over 52.1% of votes to become president again.

Subscribe to us
Recent news from Belarus