Mobile version
Government Bodies
Latest news
All news
All infographics
Central European Initiative

Central European Initiative

22.06.2017 | 16:27

The Central European Initiative was established in 1989 as a regional forum of political, economic, and cultural cooperation in Central and Eastern Europe.

Member states:

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine, Croatia, Montenegro, and Czechia .

Belarus in the CEI:

1996: Belarus joins the CEI

2017: Belarus presides in the CEI

Main theme of Belarus' CEI presidency:

promoting connectivity in a wider Europe.

The CEI objectives:

assist its non-EU member states in strengthening their economic and social potentials, consolidate their institutional and economicbackground and bring them closer to the European Union.

In 2014-2016 Belarus implemented a total of 6 CEI projects in transport, tourism, culture, education, and R&D worth €120,000. Belarus also partakes in the CEI regional project to support small and medium-sized business.

Source: The Belarusian Ministry of Foreign Affairs